top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLindsey Chastain

Reinventing Myself

2020 is the year of finishes.


At least I hope so.


We are years into remodeling this house. YEARS! And it's only 1374 square feet.


My husband bought this house 11 years ago. My boys and I moved in 7 years ago. It was NOT the house I had envisioned. It was full of colors chosen by previous residents and the man who flipped this house. If I ever meet that man, I will not have nice things to say.


At every turn we find things that were just done so incorrectly it baffles the mind. Packing peanuts as insulation, paper towel in the wall next to a wall plugin, everything caulked and glued together.


We probably would have been better off burning it down.


Instead, we rolled up our sleeves and started making small improvements. Then larger improvements. It really came to a head when we decided to redo the master half bath. It was Pepto Bismal pink. I wish I was kidding. It was not the place you want to start your day in. The plan was to paint.


Before we knew it, the room was down to just drywall. The vanity was too small for the room and the door trim had been cut to make it fit. The floor wasn't tiled under the vanity. It just kept adding up to more and more things done incorrectly. So we gutted it and started over.


And that's pretty much been the theme for every other room in the house since then. It's been slow going because it takes money (lots of money) and time to remodel a house. We are doing the majority of the work ourselves while we live here.


But, I can see the light at the end of the tunnel. The huge projects are complete. What we have left seems less daunting and we are starting to put rooms together and decorate. I am so sick and tired of living in a construction zone where almost nothing lives in it's appropriate place. We still have a long way to go. I would say that exactly 0 rooms are totally complete.


But I'm going to bring you along for the rest of the journey. I have truly missed blogging. I have truly missed writing for reasons other than my job (which is writing). And I have truly missed the comments and discussions we had on this site.


So, I'm back. At least the blog is. I'll think about YouTube later down the line. I've gotten much more minimal with my makeup, but that's a story for another day.


I'm reinventing myself this year. I am making sure that I am taking time to do the things that relax me and make me happy. I'm making sure that the spaces I live in can actually be lived in and are functional. I'm creating a happy, healthy space for my family not only in my home, but as a family unit. I'm making sure that our new (1 year and 4 month) marriage is one of openness, communication and compassion.


My husband and I work well together and I'm so fortunate to have found someone who is incredibly supportive of whatever I want to do (and is super hot).


I hope that you will join me on this journey.


What to expect from Dishwater Dreams: remodeling, DIYs, home decor, gardening, recipes, healthy living, fitness, book reviews, makeup reviews, and random thoughts.









11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page